A usability thought, and a survey

(I’m not sure about this poll service, but it takes a minimum of setup and I’m lazy.)

So in addition to being a terrible weeaboo, I’m also a software man. Lately I’ve had a chance to think about, and talk to people thinking about, ways that computers can figure out what you want and do it for you without you, the user, having to do anything.

Personally, I’m against it. Maybe it’s because I’m an engineer or an “advanced user” or whatever, but I want my computer to do tasks I ask it to do nicely and minimum fuss, whether that task is rendering windows, processing words, playing music, or messing with its own partitions.

But I want it to do those tasks when I command it to. If I leave the machine alone, I want to come back and find it in the same place I left it, unless I expressly ordered or approved the thing to do something while I was gone (trivial example: lock the screen; less trivial example: go update something while I sleep). I don’t want it starting things or rebooting itself without my input because it decided I probably wanted it by some heuristic.

Basically, I want the computer to perform its basic functions (run the OS, etc.), do things I ask it to do, and otherwise not surprise me.

Agree or disagree? Thoughts?

This entry was posted in Software and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A usability thought, and a survey

  1. Anonymous says:

    Caphi, would you translate Zero song lyrics?

Leave a Reply

